I Need Your Faith…

July 10, 2009

     Hello Friends and Family…  I am posting this as an update but also has a way to ask for your prayers. Things are going relatively well–I am in the fourth session of chemo out of six.  (Each session is 3 weeks, once a week).      Although, in my 3rd session, my white count was too low and I only received one treatment.  My hemoglobin was also low so I received a blood transfusion in June. (not as bad as I’ve always thought!)  So, we’ve had a few bumps along the road so far.   All this while (since April when I started the chemo)–we haven’t really known exactly what’s under my arm or in my breast…we just knew the margins were not clear in my surgery from March.  

So, today I will have a CT scan –which will give us an idea.  My doctor says that a lot of CT scans come back inconclusive or not specific enough, so most likely i’ll have a PET scan in 2 weeks.  (My insurance requires us to have a CT scan first).   Please pray for both of these scans.  The results will be huge in how we treat from here on.  We’ll also have an indication if my current treatment is working or if we need to change some things.  We are anxious to find out SOMETHING—because we’ve been in that awful place of not knowing for so long, but at the same time –it’s an easy place to be in denial.  With no news, we still dream of complete recovery and the best possible outcome!!  

Here’s where YOU come in.  I need your prayers–and I need you to have faith and believe when you pray that God can heal me.  For some of you, this will be easy.  For others, I know it may sound a little weird, but not after you read this from the Bible.  It’s when a sick man was brought to Jesus by his friends and when Jesus saw THEIR faith (the friends), he healed the man.  

“One day as he was teaching….the power of the Lord was present for him to heal the sick.   Some men came carrying a paralytic on a mat and tried to take him into the house to lay him before Jesus.  When they could not find a way to do this because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and lowered him on his mat through the tiles into the middle of the crowd right in front of Jesus.  When Jesus saw their faith, he said “Friend, your sins are forgiven.”…….He said to the paralyzed man, “I tell you , get up, take your mat and go home.”  Immediately he stood up in front of them, took what he had been lying on and went home praising God.  Everyone was amazed and gave praise to God. They were filled with awe and said “We have seen remarkable things today.”      Luke 5: 17-20,24-26

SO, now you see why I titled this post, I Need Your Faith.  Jerel and I are praying too and believing, but 

praying

  reading this story reminded me of how important YOUR prayers are, and I wanted you to be reminded of that too.   Will you pray for me today, asking God to heal me—tell him you believe that He can do this.  (The guys in the story above fought through the ROOF because they believed in Jesus so much)    I know this post is incredibly selfish, but I want you to know that I would LOVE to pray for you too.  Please let me know anything about what’s going on with you and I will commit to praying for you.  Thanks for being there for us…. the support and love we are receiving is amazing.  We are headed to Ocean Isle Beach tomorrow with Jerel’s family.  We are really looking forward to time away… to relax, have FUN and escape for a while.

We love you all, Susan

9 Responses to “I Need Your Faith…”

  1. Diana Says:

    hey susan,
    that is one of my favorite bible stories and i’m so glad you shared it in your blog. we do believe that God will heal you! we are praying, praying, praying and trust that God will answer all of our prayers. we’re so glad you are going to have a week to relax and play with your family! enjoy the beautiful beach and camilla’s delicious food! please give her a hug from me!
    love,
    d

  2. sherrie cockram Says:

    I pray for you everyday. And I will pray for you today.

  3. Karen Davenport Says:

    It will be an honor….consider it done. We love you all.

  4. Robin Says:

    Such a sweet reminder from God’s Word – I just shared this same story with my 3 & 4 year old class a couple of weeks ago – We love you guys and we are praying!

  5. Cammie Howard Says:

    Susan-that is not selfish at all!!! I am and will pray for you. “Therefore, I tell you whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have recieved it, and it will be yours.” (Mark 11:24)I just read that before I read your post. I will pray for complete healing. Have a great time at the beach!

  6. Lane Says:

    Robin and I continue to pray for you and Jerel. We love you….have a great time at the beach!
    Lane

  7. Sue Uibel Says:

    Susan,
    Just read your post this morning….up early with pre-wedding day thoughts. 🙂 As I’m sitting here and praying/thinking about you and your sweet family, I just want you to know that I TOTALLY believe and am praying that God can and will provide complete healing for you – and am boldly asking Him for it. Like a father who would love to grant his children any request humanly possible, I have to believe our heavenly Father would do the same, and even greater things. I am following your posts from the sidelines, but you can be sure I’m on your team of prayer warriors. Hope you have a wonderful, relaxing, fun time at the beach this week. Much love to you and Jerel.

  8. hdooley Says:

    During a battle in the Old Testament Joshua prayed for the sun to stand still so they could defeat their enemy….a bold prayer that God answered!! You are my sun stand still prayer Susan! Love you with all my heart!

  9. Marilyn Says:

    Randy and I continue to pray for your healing, Susan. EnJOY your week away. Grace and peace to all!

Leave a Reply

