Story 2/7: Not Stopping Now

I am so thankful to my parents for bringing us 3 kids up in a home where I learned about God from the very beginning.  We were members of First Baptist Church in Charlotte — and my parents are still there.  My brother, sister and I used to joke (sometimes laughing and sometimes with rotten teenage attitudes!) that our family must have the key to the church and dad must secretly be in charge of locking the place up…because we were there ALL the time!  Some of my best memories are in that church, the Youth Group, trips, Sunday lunches out after church, camps, retreats, etc.   I heard and learned from a very early age that God is good and we can trust Him with our lives. And I believed that…still do.

When my cancer diagnosis came in March 2008, I never blamed God.  Again, all my life I believed that God was good and I could trust Him with my life—and I decided that I was not going to stop now.  I’m not changing–God IS good–He did not do this to me….but He WILL use this ultimately for good.   I truly believe that–I’m not just saying it to sound brave, strong, or spiritual.  

Growing up in a Baptist Church–it has its stigmas and sterotypes..but it was a really wonderful place.  When I was younger, the church sang mostly hymns.  And if you’re Baptist, then you know a lot of these by heart.  Great is Thy Faithfulness, Crown Him with Many Crowns, How Great Thou Art…. they were not done in an incredibly modern, current way or anything…but I am SO thankful for the words of those hymns–they truly are words to live by.  Last year (in my first go-round with Chemo)—I found myself in the shower one day starting to sing. Usually, the shower was my place to cry—a safe place, kids can’t hear me.  But this particular day, I was singing an old hymn that just came to me.  It goes like this:

I need Thee, O I need thee
Every hour I need thee
O bless me now my Savior
I come to Thee

It was so true–I needed God …. I needed Him every hour–  I needed to believe in Him, believe that His hand was on my life and healing my body.  I needed him to give me (mental) strength to get through this battle.  I needed him to protect me from thoughts of dying, leaving my family behind.  I needed Him every single hour.

The truth?  I needed him every hour BEFORE I was sick.  The truth?  I need Him every hour NOW.  Every hour of this life is filled with opportunity to live FOR something, to impact those around us, to serve, to make a difference, to love and be loved.  We need God every hour, every minute, every second.  I am so thankful that I learned that when I was young–and that will go with me forever.

7 Responses to “Story 2/7: Not Stopping Now”

  1. katie Says:

    You rock Susan! You are an inspiration to us all!
    xoxo
    Katie

  2. sherrie cockram Says:

    I’m Baptist, sang them, cried in the shower. Cried for you, cried for me, Ron, Napoleon, that old couple, i can’t remember their names, cried for the technicians who treated us and go home every night after. You are such an inspiration Susan…Hold on!

  3. Cammie Howard Says:

    You rock Susan! Thanks for those words!

  4. Robin Says:

    We love you Susan! You are such an encouragment to us and we praise God for you and the beautiful testimony of God’s grace. I miss you so much!!!!

  5. Kathryn Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing, Susan! I, too, am so grateful to have grown up in a Christian home, and have felt God’s presence through my own battle. Although lately, I have to say, I’m growing weary of it all. The side effects are lingering with each treatment, and I just want it to be over. Thank you for your reminder that I need the Lord daily, and that he is my protector and healer. Stay strong!

  6. Het Says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience, feelings, thoughts, etc with us! I love you and look forward to the coming post!

  7. Dianne Mitzel (Frye) Says:

    Your family remains as a pillar of strength to all who know them. What a blessing to be raised believing that God is in control and we need not worry about what lies ahead for us..I love you, and pray daily for your continued healing and strength. First Baptist has been “my” church since the cradle roll dept. I remember crying in the shower also, and at night, after a rough day, repeating Psalms 23, what a comfort these words are that are such a part of us…

Leave a Reply

