Story 3/7: All-Access Pass

On November 12, 2008, I finished 6 1/2 weeks of Radiation Treatments.  We were so excited to be DONE with chemo, surgery and radiation.  We went to Outback to celebrate and got ready to have the BEST holiday season ever- so thankful for health, family and all the blessings of life.  We told our kids that as a Celebration Surprise, we were all going to DISNEY WORLD!!!  (We had never taken the kids, and Jerel and I hadn’t gone since we were both kids).  We were all counting the days until April 3.

In mid-March, we found that I had a reoccurance of cancer and needed  further treatment–not sure what type and when.  Well, on March 31 (4 days before our BIG trip!)–we met with my oncologist.  Not only did he tell us I needed more chemo–but he said I needed to start TOMORROW!  What?  3 days before our promised trip to Orlando?  I cried and cried right there in the doctors office… I wasn’t crying because I needed more chemotherapy (which I was sad about BTW), I was crying because I didn’t want to tell our kids that we needed to postpone our trip and that it wasn’t quite time to “celebrate.”    After talking to the nurses and doctor a lot—they all agreed that I could still go.  I just had to take some meds with me… and take it kinda easy in Orlando.  So, the next day I did a full 4 hours of chemo and started packing for Orlando the next day.

On the way to Florida in the car– I read in our book that Disney is wonderful with people who have disabilities or any kind of medical condition.  So, we called my oncologist and asked him to fax a doctors note saying that I had just had chemotherapy that week.  My doctor was wonderful and within hours, we had a note.  When we got to the Magic Kingdom, we went straight to the Guest Assistance House at the main entrance.  We told them our situation and they immediately gave us a Guest Assistance Card (picture above).  This card gave us access to basically the handicapped entrance to every ride.  Yes, that means we waited in NO lines.  Our first ride was Dumbo, the flying elephants and I felt SO guilty walking right past all these people in line. (It was Spring Break–so there were LLOOOOONNGG lines everywhere!)  I felt bad because after all, we looked kinda normal.  I was worried about what people thought of us.  It made me realize that you just never know what people are going through. Things may look fine on the outside–but you just never know!  After a few rides, I began to enjoy the “no-waiting” and didn’t feel guilty anymore…after all, if anyone DID say something (which no one did)—we definitely more to say than they’d ever want to know!

The Disney People were awesome!  EVERY SINGLE employee treated us so wonderfully, never a single question asked..even when we went to Mickey’s House/Tent (where people wait literally HOURS to see Mickey)–the Disney Girl took us in a side door and we waited 5 minutes.  (Picture below!)    I told our kids that we would NEVER have this opportunity again– to experience a no-line Disney World at Spring Break.  And while we were so thankful for this all-access pass, I also told them that we never WANTED to do this again.  They agreed!

Now, the lesson learned….there’s always a lesson, right?

The ultimate all-access pass:

“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand.  And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.”  Romans 5:1

One Response to “Story 3/7: All-Access Pass”

  1. Susan Says:

    Suz – this is SO good! I can totally hear this story coming out on 1 of our speaking tours. =) All access pass, baby. LOVE it! And love you- Sue

Leave a Reply

