Update: 12/7/09

ZERO!!

As many of you know, I have been waiting for over a week for some results from my Oncologist.  I had a blood test (called the Circulating Tumor)– a test I haven’t had before.  This test would give us some indication as to how many cancer cells are floating around in my body and according to Dr. Boyd, it’s a more reliable test than the “Tumor Marker” test that I’ve had before.   Last time I met with Dr. Boyd, he said he wanted my # to be less than 5 and he would feel good about that.

Well, they called today (at 5:00pm) to tell me that they heard back from the test and my number is ZERO!!  We are beyond thrilled with this news.  What all it means, I’m not exactly sure, I just know that zero  is the best possible news.  I will meet with Dr. Boyd next Wednesday (Dec. 16th) to discuss all that we know right now.  I am expecting to NOT need more chemo with this good news.   I will update on Dec. 16th.  

Until then, say a THANK YOU prayer tonight.  I told God yesterday (I’ve been praying kind of nonstop–cancer, I guess, does that to you!)—I was going down McCord Rd (my  neighbors know this) and the sun was setting-and said out loud “God, I will praise you if I get good results and I’ll praise you if I get bad results.”  I really had a strong conviction that my faith and trust in God is NOT dependent on the answers I get from him.  But I’m really happy that I get to praise him today for good results.  🙂

More later.  Happy Holidays–be thankful for what you have!

In Christ,

Susan

8 Responses to “Update: 12/7/09”

  1. Camille Says:

    Oh give thanks unto the Lord for he is good! This is exciting news. May God continue to show himself strong on your behalf!

  2. Sue Uibel Says:

    AMEN-AMEN-AMEN!! Standing CLAPPING and CHEERING, Susan — and I’m, too, glad we can say THANK YOU, Lord, for zero results!! 🙂

    Continuing to pray for you and your dear family —enjoy this season —will remember the 16th.

    Sue

  3. Heather Says:

    Hallelujah!!! What an awesome Christmas gift for you….ZERO!!!! I cannot wait to tell Maddie and Ada Grace because they still pray for you at night a couple times a week! Loves to you Laws!

  4. Amy Says:

    Susan:

    So great to read your blog. I had no idea what was going on with you. Thank God for zeros!!

    We are doing well. Two kids…Quinn (age 6) and Chloe (age 4.5). Chloe is disabled and your Disney World story is the first thing that has made me excited about her disabilities :). Just kidding but I am going to take advantage of that when we hit Disney next.

    Take care and stay in touch! Hello to your beautiful family.

    Oh yeah, I still laugh about you saying “tit” while playing games with Jerrel’s family…”you know tit for tat”.

  5. Cammie Howard Says:

    Susan-THAT IS AWESOME NEWS!! Praise the Lord! So glad to hear that and will be sure to thank the Lord on your behalf!!!

  6. Becky Dorsett Says:

    Praise God for your good news and for your faith

  7. Dana McCabe Says:

    Dear Susan and Family,

    We celebrate this chunk of good news with you!
    God bless you!

    Dana, Tom, Sean and Daniel McCabe

  8. Chrisy Hatcher Says:

    Susan,
    What an incredible praise this is! I had a weird dream the other night that you guys were in so I just thought I’d check your site to see if anything was going on! I’m so pleasantly amazed to hear your report! I’m sure this is the best Christmas gift to your family!
    Have a Marvelous, Wonderful, Joyous Christmas!
    Love
    Chrisy (Naumann) Hatcher

Leave a Reply

