Update 10/16/10

Hello Family and Friends–

Thank you for checking on me–and I’m so sorry that I haven’t been updating this blog.  Sometimes it’s just so hard to make myself do this, because I don’t like giving all these details with no good news!!  😦  This might be short and it might be long–i’m hoping I can make it short.  We’ve had a rough week here at the Law house!!

I went to the Oncologist on Monday the 11th to get Day 8 of the 2nd cycle.  (It was Day 1 and 8-all 3 drugs and Day 4 and 11-just one). My levels were strong enough (thanks to a shot at home on Saturday given by Jerel)–so I got all 3 drugs on Monday.  During chemo, they came and told me that my liver enzymes were way out of whack and they wanted me to go have a CT of my liver the next day.  I was very anxious about that–but went on Tuesday.  On the way to the scan, I noticed that my back was hurting again (it’s been hurting on and off this whole time)….but it was really starting to hurt.  I finished the scan, and went home.  By the time I could get up to my room, I was in so much pain!  My back was killing me.  So, we tried some medicine that we have and after a couple of hours, we knew it wasn’t going to work.  After talking to my nurse on the phone–instead of prescribing something stronger for me, they wanted me to go to the ER.  (It was around 6:00)

So, we got to the E.R. at 7:00.  (DANA, my sister was home with the kids.  She is a rock star….seriously!) I won’t bore you, or shock you or make you laugh (or cry) with my ER stories…but I finally got pain medication at probably 10:00.  Reading this, it doesn’t sound that bad…but it was horrible!  Anyway–lots of skipped ER stories–at 4:00, they decide to admit me for the night, because my pain wasn’t under control, but also because I came in with a really low blood pressure….and they wanted to observe me for the night.  So we got into a room around 4:30 am.

Dr. Limentani came in around 8am and talked to us.  He did give us one bit of good news–that the liver CT came back normal.  🙂  I was very relieved about that!  But he said he really wanted to get an MRI of my back to make sure there was no compression on the spine (thus all the pain)–or figure out if this was progressive disease , or if maybe it was just chemo meds causing pain.  So, around 10am I went for an MRI of my lower back and heard back by noon that there was no compression on my spine…so as long as the pain was under control, we could go home.   We spent the next 2 hours trying to work out medicines..he ended up putting me on oral morphine for the back pain.

I was scheduled the next day to go in for Day 11 (for just the study drug)–but when we went in, they took us to a dr. room instead and said we needed to talk about the MRI.   While there is no compression, there IS progression of the disease…which just means the cancer in my lower back and right saechrum is growing.  If there is evidence of disease progression while on a study drug/trial, then you have to be taken out of the program.  (We were talking to a different dr. that day b/c Lim. wasn’t there)–so this new doctor tells me that I’ve been taken out of the program and that we’ll move on to radiation to my back.  I had so many questions about all this (like what are we going to do about my lungs in the mean time?)–so I made an appointment to come back the next day (Friday) with Dr. Limentani.

So, yesterday we talked to Dr Limentani about all this.  He ordered a CT of my chest (which I had on Friday afternoon)–to see what is going on in my lungs right now.  He is hoping to get in a course of radiation to my lungs AND back before moving on to a different set of chemo drugs.  But he was needing to see the state of the lungs right now (from the CT) to determine if I can have radiation.  We meet with Dr. L again on Monday to discuss results and have an appointment right after with a radiologist to discuss radiation.   Dr. Limentani will then suggest a route for us to take with Chemo Drugs.    So, we’ll know a lot more on Monday about our next steps.

So, how am I doing with all this?  I am doing ok–it’s weird, you just have to deal with whatever comes your way in life and we all do the best we can. I am a fighter–and know that I have a lot of fight left in me.  I KNOW that God can heal me of this–I know that He has the power and the authority to do that–I don’t doubt that for a minute.  I just don’t know if He WILL.  I’ve prayed so much about this disease over the past 2 and a half years….and for some reason–it just keeps coming back.  Right now, I NEED God to intervene and do something miraculous for me.  And I know that He can.

Will you continue to pray for me?  I want God to hear my name over and over from all of you!!  Pray that these radiation treatments are effective…and then that the chemo can get in there and get this cancer!  Pray for wisdom for my doctors– there are some options with chemo–but my options are running low, since I’ve been on several of them before.  Pray for Jerel–of course, this is all stressful and heartbreaking for  him.  Pray for the kids–they each deal with this in their own way.  Luke (5 yr) mentions it the most….just in his innocent way of not understanding, he’ll just say things about it…like “well, you know, your cancer” or “is daddy going to take us to the busstop every day now, because you know, mommy’s cancer”–or he drew a picture of our house the other day and I was upstairs in the bed.  😦  That made me sad.  Bailey (10 yr) never mentions it.  It’s her way of denying it, I think. But I know she thinks about it a lot.  And Christopher (8) doesn’t talk about it much, but he’ll “check on me” more–but he’s had a few issues this weekend, with being mad at everyone, irritable, and a bad attitude about things in general.  😦

I promise to be better about updating this week.  I know if I do it more often, I can do shorter ones!!  Thanks for reading this, and for caring for/about us.  I love each and every one of you.  Love,Susan

26 Responses to “Update 10/16/10”

  1. Cammie Howard Says:

    Susan- I hate cancer. I am so sorry you are going though all this and continue to go through all of this. You are such an amazing woman. Thank you for your honesty in this blog. I will pray for God to do a miracle. Love-Cammie

  2. Ben Meredith Says:

    I am praying for you guys. This is so tough.

  3. suzanne mitchell Says:

    I love you and my heart is breaking……not because I think you won’t do well, I know you will!!!!!!!! It breaks for your adorable kids who love their mom sooo much…..and Jerel, who is so wonderful, and for you who I want to help!!!! I pray so much for you because you are so wonderful and full of so much courage!!!!

  4. Kara Says:

    Oh Susan. I don’t even know what to say or how to express our care and concern for you guys. We love you and I am committing to pray for you daily. Rest in His care.

  5. Andrea Says:

    Hey Susan. I am praying and I’ll get my family praying too. You stay in my thoughts and prayers.
    Love,
    Andrea

  6. Mama Henley Says:

    I went to high school with Jerel and have been following your journey. As a believer, I am praying for a miracle. I am thankful that you know the Great Physician and have such strong faith. May you rest in God’s comforting embrace and may you be blessed with a miracle!

  7. Joann Hicks Says:

    Dear Susan, Mr. Hicks and I read your journal and pray for you each day. Also for your mom and dad. I agree that Dana is amazing and I have always thought so. I know that you are in a valley, but just keep your eyes on the mountaintop. Love to you all!

  8. sherrie cockram Says:

    Susan, you keep fighting and we will keep praying for you & your family and I will keep thinking about you constantly. You are so strong and you are so good. Get throught this and get back to the business of being Susan Law, Wife, Mother, Sister And Friend…You are always on my mind!

  9. Jeff Smith Says:

    Susan – i am sorry to hear how the disease has progressed. Praying for you, Jerel and family. God is faithful.

  10. june Says:

    i love you guys. Your name, susan, will be a constant desperate plea to the Lord from all of us. Keep fighting. June

  11. Julie Martin Says:

    Susan,
    We love you guys and are praying for you! We promise to pester God just like the lady who went to the judge until she got her way! You are your family are such precious people. My heart breaks that you are going through all of this.
    Much love,
    Julie

  12. Kristin Says:

    you are beautiful – God loves you so much – you are in His hands (and in my prayers) constantly. I wish my little brain could conceive of why a girl who loves and lives like you do, would have to fight this fight, but I am glad to hear you ARE a fighter and that you know God is with you and is hearing all of our prayers! hey- elevation church service was good this weekend if you want to watch something with jerel about keeping jesus at the center always. (i think its called scarecrow in my mellon patch?) It isn’t too heavy or anything- just a nice reminder that I am always needing. David and I are sending LOVE and prayers!

  13. Kari Says:

    You got it, girl! I am praying for you. BTW–I taught Dr. L’s son several years ago. He’s an amazing doc from what I hear.

  14. Joan Says:

    Hi Susan and Jerel,
    I am sure there was a ROAR of prayers going up today on your behalf. You have so many of us praying and pleading for God’s HEALING power to lift you out of this pit. I can’t imagine all you are dealing with but I am so grateful that you are surrounded by so much love and support. You both made such a difference in our lives when I found your church and I continue to learn about FAITH and GOD through your eyes. We send love and prayers daily! All our love,
    Joan and Gary

  15. Linda Ruth Reeb Says:

    Susan and Jerel – You come to mind so often, and when you do, I pray – I will keep praying! And for the munchkins too – great kids! xo

  16. Edie Stanfield Says:

    Susan and Jerel — I’m praying and I love y’all SO much!!!! Edie

  17. Deanne Says:

    Susan: Thank you for sharing this update. Jeff and I continue to pray for healing for you. We also pray for strength and comfort for you, Jerel and your children. May the Father of Compassion and the God of all Comfort comfort you in all of these troubles.
    Love,
    Deanne

  18. Donna Cameli Says:

    Susan and Jerel and family,
    We are praying for you over and over again.

  19. Sandra Doolittle Says:

    Hi Susan,

    I am Lane’s Mother and have been following your progress since Robin started sharing with me when this first began. I am a faithful prayer warrior for you and your family. I too, know that God works miracles and it is all in His hands. I pray for a cure for you and for the horrible disease of cancer.

    God Bless You and Your Family,
    Sandra Doolittle

  20. John Teeling Says:

    Susan,
    Tracy and I are praying for you. We love you. You are awesome!

  21. Beth Says:

    We’re praying for you all. “Our God is so big, so strong, and so mighty, there’s nothing our God cannot do….”

    and please don’t worry about trying to make your blog posts shorter. We’re interested to hear how you’re doing, and thankful to know how to pray for you. please write as much as you want.

  22. Doris & Bob Peterson Says:

    Dear Susan,

    We know that God is faithful and cares for you & all your family. We will keep your name before Him in our prayers. Lord keep your Arms around Susan & her whole family!!

  23. Susie Edmonds Palmer Says:

    Susan,
    I haven’t seen you since our UNC days and had no idea until this morning of all that you are going through. I will put my big mouth to some good use and will flood the gates of Heaven on your behalf.

    Susie

  24. Carey Says:

    Join with many of Susan and Jerel’s friends on Tuesday 10/19 so “God can hear Susan’s name over and over again” as we cry out for her healing!

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#!/event.php?eid=105434519522627&index=1

  25. Bonnie Owens Says:

    Just catching up on some things today and found this entry. I just want to wrap my arms around you and your family…. I am in awe of you all, but know what you mean when you say you do what you need to do. I pray that you have a pain free day today and that your children find peaceful, happy moments with you this weekend that fill them up with peace, security and happiness. I pray your husband has peace and renewed energy. Love love love to you all.

Leave a Reply

