Great Friends Jumping In

Hello Friends and Family,

Several weeks ago, a few close friends came to Jerel and me with an idea—to find some way to help us in the midst of all this!  They were sensitive to know that we are/have been facing many financial struggles due to 3 years of hospital bills/deductibles/pharmacy bills/4 surgeries–(and that’s even with “good” medical insurance).  So many people want to help us but don’t know how, so some precious friends have designed/planned a night in honor of my family (I am so humbled by this) to help raise some funds.  If you know me well, then you know that I am not comfortable asking for money –or even for help!   But I am smart enough (and tired enough!) to admit that we do need help.

So, here is the link to the fun night they’ve planned at Northstone Country Club (our neighborhood)–on Sunday, November 21.  Of course, this is NO pressure and no expectations and we know that you care and love us regardless of how many people respond. Really… but I do feel like it’s time to drop my pride and invite you to help.  THANK you THANK you THANK you to the friends who knew how to jump in.  We are so blessed by God–make no mistake–I know that each and everyone of you has been handed to me from God Himself.

Supporting Susan

www.supportingsusan.com

Just a quick update–I am not on the computer much lately–mainly because of terrible back pain!  I am finishing up 2 weeks of radiation tomorrow (to my back and my lung/lymph node areas).  Then, Friday I will start chemo.  Dr. Limentani has me on one IV med (Ixempra) and one oral chemo (Xeloda).  I will take Ixempra 1 day every 3 weeks, and Xeloda every day for 2 weeks, with one week off. Please pray for me.  Dr. Limentani has been very honest with us in saying that our options are dwindling down–but that this plan is still a very hopeful one.  I have been praying to God every day for a miracle– that He would heal my body of this cancer that seems to keep growing and that He would astound everyone around us.  And I (for sure!) will point all the glory to God.

I am doing surprisingly well–at times —and unsurprisingly horrible at other times!  Please pray for all of us over here at the Law House—for my back pain–that the chemo would work quickly and give me some relief, and in the mean time that I can figure out my pain medication. Pray for a miracle–really, just pray that God would miraculously beat this cancer with His hand.  Please pray that I can continue to rest in God’s arms.

Every night (and I do mean EVERY), Luke (5 yr) comes in our room in the middle of the night-usually frightened by something.  Yes, it gets really old….but not as much for me as Jerel…because Luke likes to sleep next to Jerel—so close, like nuzzled against him.   Jerel usually lets him for a few minutes and then either carries him back to his room or over to the couch in our room.  One night last week, I think Jerel was particularly tired and I noticed that Luke had been in our bed for a while. So, I turned over and just looked at them.  I couldn’t take my eyes off Luke.  The frightened, panicked face of an hour ago was now peacefully sleeping in his father’s arms.   As I looked at Luke, I prayed that God would take my fear, my pain, my panic and replace it with peace, rest and comfort in Him.

I love you and Goodnight,

Susan

7 Responses to “Great Friends Jumping In”

  1. Robin Says:

    Susan,
    I love your post – I too am praying that God would give you His peace and that you will be able to rest in Him. I’m so thankful for you dear friend. Thank you for sharing your heart and blessing so many with your testimony. I love you precious friend.

    Praying and believing with you,
    Robin

  2. Cammie Howard Says:

    Susan-
    Phillip and I love you and your family. My heart is sad but hopeful in a GOD who can perform miracles!! We look forward to seeing you at the event!
    Love-
    Cammie

  3. Joan Says:

    We pray constantly for a complete miracle. I also pray for control of your pain so that you are able to rest and have energy to share with your wonderful family! You are such an amazing woman married to such an amazing man. You and your children are showered in prayer every day. Thank you for opening your hearts to us and thank you for letting us love you back!

  4. Catherine Warner Says:

    Hi Susan,

    You five continue to be in our thoughts and prayers regularly!! What extraordinary challenges you have and are facing. We are SO glad to hear about this event and are praying that HIS abundance in every way will be showered upon all five of you…your parents as well.

    much love to you!
    Catherine

  5. Lisa Van Riper Says:

    Dear Susan,

    I pray for you and your sweet family everyday.

    We love you,

    Lisa V.

  6. Christy Fernandez Says:

    Susan,

    My name is Christy, and I’m friends with Mariet and Sam Rogers – HELLO FROM MEMPHIS, TN! There is a large group of us married couples that meet monthly have Bible study. This past Sunday, Mariet told us breifly about you and your family. My heart sunk – breast and ovarian cancer run in my family. I can’t fully understand what you are going through but I can empathize with you! Sweet people like yourself gives me more reasons to continue to support finding a cure.

    One thing I can say about you (and I haven’t even met you!) is that you are a strong woman. I can tell by these blogs!! It’s amazing what God can do! It’s amazing how He has brought us together now! Needless to say, I, WE are ALL YOUR prayer warriors! My husband and I are praying for you, your husband, and your children daily. If there are specific things we can pray about, please let us know!

    I will be keeping up with your blog and look forward to hearing how God moves through your family and in others. I’m going to leave you with my favorite verse – it actually brought my husband and I together and is a reminder of how much He loves us!

    Blessings,
    Christy Fernandez

    Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with the hope by the power of the Holy Spirt”

  7. Bonnie Owens Says:

    found this post tonight …. read off and on through the blog… crying, laughing, praying ….. I needed to hear this tonight Susan. God is using you in a powerful way. I know you won’t read my words, but I wanted to tell you thank you.

    Love, Bonnie

Leave a Reply

