Thursday 12-16 Update From the Hospital

OK, we’re still at the hospital.  Yesterday was a busy day and I didn’t get a chance to give you an update.  Her platelets remain low.  They are now doing what is called an HLA match to find the right platelets for her.  This is a more specific matching process, since apparently she has developed antibodies that don’t like the platelets she has had.  It’s a more involved process and takes longer – could happen today (Thurs), but more than likely tomorrow.

The ENT believes her swallowing issue is due to the cancer affecting a nerve and/or the muscles that cause swallowing.  So it’s not a quick fix or something they can give medicine for.  She is going for a neck and brain CT today to determine if she has a nerve issue and where.  She had a CT of her back last night which did show a pinched nerve (from the cancer).  Good news is they can radiate these areas and hopefully give her some relief.  Ideally they radiate her back and neck area today to cause the tumors to shrink, pain to diminish, and swallowing ability to return.  In the meantime she will begin to get nutrition through her IV today.

So, it seems like every time we think there’s a solution on the horizon, two more things crop up.  (Kind of a whack-a-mole scenario)  The kids are doing fine at this point.  Martha and I have been trading off at the hospital and with them.  My folks (the reinforcements) are coming in Friday to help.  And we have awesome friends who are taking our kids for play dates and to basketball practices and other things.

In terms of coming home, Dr. Boyd is not giving us a timetable for that yet.  To put it simply, the swallowing issue has to be resolved before she can come home.  And the pain really needs to get better too.  Praying today that the radiation can do this.

In the middle of it all, Susan remains strong and faithful and amazingly at peace.  I attribute this to God’s presence with her, her faith, and your prayers.  Keep them up please!!  She needs them now more than ever.

I’ll try to post again tonight or tomorrow and let you know how the day went.

Jerel

13 Responses to “Thursday 12-16 Update From the Hospital”

  1. Deanne Says:

    We are continuing to pray!

  2. Robin Says:

    Praying – love to you all.

  3. Susan Says:

    Thanks so much for keeping us updated. We are praying constantly and so wishing we lived right around the corner to help. Thankful for God’s presence being so real to Susan!! Love you guys LOTS.

  4. Bob Says:

    Praying. Praying. Praying.

  5. Jeff Says:

    I will continue to pray for you guys.

    I am also going to ask my church and my parent’s church to add Susan to their prayer lists.

  6. John Teeling Says:

    Thanks Jerel.

  7. Jessica Says:

    “STRONG” is the word I love to hear and say when speaking of Susan….keep up the strength Susan, and I know the rest of us will keep up the prayers!!!! Hugs to you all!

  8. ann hartline Says:

    I love you Susan, I think about you and your family daily. You are all in my heart.
    Love Ann Hartline

  9. Jenni Marsh Says:

    Thanks Jerel for giving of your time and yourself to all of us who love the Laws…. all of you …I am praying for each of you and each of your needs to be met. Hugs to sweet Susan!!!

  10. Kristin Says:

    we are praying for you to feel better, for the radiation to make its mark in an amazingly perfect way and for you to get back home soon! what an amazing woman and warrior you are! praying you feel surrounded by all of our love and prayers and by God’s love every minute you are in that hospital bed. (hugs!)

  11. Joan Says:

    Good morning! It is a new day and I am praying that this day brings relief from the pain, good blood counts and renewed hope. You are both amazing people and there are so many people who love you. I pray you feel surrounded by this love and God’s love as you go through the day!!

  12. Katie Womble Says:

    I love you guys and miss you a ton. If you want me to babysit over xmas break let me know. I found this really funny picture from my graduation day in downtown Raleigh. It’s of the Sir Walter Raleigh statue all dressed up in pink for cancer support. He looks pretty funny and I’ll facebook it to Susan.

    I think of you a lot and admire you and wish I could see you, but in the meantime, I’ll send a silly picture that might crack a smile or three on your end.

    Love,
    Katie

  13. linda Miller Says:

    Hello,
    My good friend sent over your blog tonight which I’ve been reading. I wanted to let you know that I will be praying for you and your precious children.
    Susan was a remarkable woman but I believe you were the wind beneath her wings. Stay strong and when you can’t lean on Susan. She would want you to. May God bless you.
    Sincerely,
    Linda Miller

Leave a Reply

