Susan Update 12/21

Gotta figure out how to come up with more creative titles for these posts…anyway…

Thanks for continuing to read.  We really are encouraged by so many people reading, praying, and sending us messages, from all over the world now.  It is clear to me that God is using Susan to touch a lot of people, so we are glad something good is coming of this.

Not a lot to report so far today.  She had a pretty uneventful night.  They adjusted her pain meds yesterday to a continuous infusion which so far has been a good thing.  I think she’s a little more lucid and not a lot of severe pain breakthrough.  She had radiation treatment this afternoon on her brain and back.  We have seen a little improvement in her back pain.  We’re only two days in to the brain radiation, so nothing to report there yet.  Martha, her mom, is going to stay with her tonight, and I’ll be at home with the kids.  I’ll miss being there, but I won’t do much good if I don’t get a good night’s sleep here pretty soon, so I’ll take advantage of that tonight, and be back at it tomorrow with Susan.

A good friend of ours who’s also a doc saw her a few days ago in the hospital and told her “I’ve never seen you look more beautiful than right now.”  She rolled her eyes at him sarcastically (and knowing her, I know she was thinking “Seriously?  You’ve never seen me look more beautiful than THIS?”)  But I could not agree more with my friend Chris.  She has this peaceful, radiant glow in her eyes and face that is just amazing.  She is experiencing something deeper right now, beyond all the pain and IVs and needles…this has been a HUGE source of encouragement and comfort to me and our family.

There’s a story in the Bible that right after Jesus was born, his parents took him to the Jewish temple to be dedicated.  There was a man there named Simeon, an old prophet who had been told some time before by God that he would not die until he saw the Savior with his own eyes.  When Mary and Joseph brought Jesus to the temple (I think he was 8 days old) Simeon took the boy in his arms and said “Sovereign Lord, as you have promised, you now dismiss your servant in peace.  For my eyes have seen your salvation, which you have prepared in the sight of all people, a light for revelation to the Gentiles and for glory to your people Israel.”  (Luke 2:29-32)

We still have hope that Susan can be healed and pull through.  But I have thought about this passage a lot lately, because I believe that same kind of satisfaction and peace Simeon had, once he held the Christ child, is the kind of peace (maybe the right word is satisfaction) that Susan has.  I know I run the risk of making this a Christian cliche and sounding like this is a flat, Sunday-School type response.  But seriously – this is real stuff that I am seeing first-hand.  She is in a place where she desperately wants to be healed, but at the same time is satisfied in her heart and at peace, knowing that “…my eyes have seen your salvation.”

Whatever happens, I pray that I can experience that kind of peace and satisfaction, that Susan is experiencing, knowing that there are many things I may want, but only one thing I really need.

Sending much love to you from Susan and me – through Christ–

 

Jerel

21 Responses to “Susan Update 12/21”

  1. David Hickman Says:

    Hey guys…know that we are praying for you and your family. What are some specific ways we can continue to pray? I’d love to get some CharlotteONE folks praying over this. Love and peace to you. Let me know if you need anything.

  2. Wendy Bezek Says:

    Please send Susan love from the Bezek family. Continued prayers sent to you all!
    Wendy Bezek

  3. Judith Bryant Says:

    Prayers Right There With You and Susan, Jerel, for Healing and the Wonderful Peace of Which You Speak!!! God, Grant Us All That Peace, and Especially Susan, You, All Family and Friends!

  4. Amy Nason Says:

    Susan, We love you and miss you! Praying for you always!

  5. Beth Says:

    “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” -Jesus. John 14:27

  6. Sandy Says:

    Please know that you are in our prayers daily. Your attitude is such an encouragement to others, and brings glory to our loving Father.

  7. Sheryl Says:

    Beautifully said!!! …and His peace which passes all understanding… Is the verse I think of!! thanking God for HIs peace for you!!

  8. Missy Says:

    Beautifully written Jerel! In everything you write, I always walk away seeing how truly REAL Jesus is and how he is also carrying you through this. You show such strength and peace that only comes from God!

  9. Lori Says:

    You will keep in perfect peace
    those whose minds are steadfast,
    because they trust in you.
    Trust in the LORD forever,
    for the LORD, the LORD himself, is the Rock eternal- Isaiah 26:-3-4

    Praising God for how He is keeping you both in His perfect peace! Your trust in Him is a witness to those all around you!

  10. Chrisy Hatcher Says:

    Jerel,
    I am overwhelmed by how inspiring your words are in today’s post! I know that can only be the work of the Holy Spirit in you & Susan, but it is truly amazing. We always think we could never handle certain fears in our lives, but we really don’t realize how matchless God’s grace is for whatever we face. I can only imagine how beautiful & absolutely terrifying what you are experiencing is like. No doubt what you are going through is inspiring and touching many people’s lives. I’m so glad to hear that what you see in Susan is giving you the hope and courage to keep going. It really is such a great reminder that there is such a bigger reality beyond what we see and experience here. Susan’s healing is guranteed, I just pray for you & the kids to be able to accept whatever form that healing comes in! Thank you for continuing to share your journey with us and allowing us the privilege of praying for you!

    In Christ,
    Chrisy

  11. Hope Squires Says:

    Jerel — please know that there are lots of people praying for Susan (and your whole family) here in Raleigh. I send up prayers as I think of you all throughout the day, which is more and more often each day. Sounds like the peace of Christ is with Susan, and I pray that same peace for all of you.

  12. Teresa C. Lewis Says:

    Dear Law Family,
    I have just recently come to know you and your family via a friend of your family requesting prayer. I have been drawn into Susan’s blog and have had you and your family on my mind ever since. I would like you to know that I am but one more prayer warrior for you and your family. I am amazed at the strength, determination, and above all your faith in God and the power of prayer. Thank you for sharing your journey. You are in my prayers.

  13. Susan Ballard Says:

    Jerel and Susan,

    Thank you for sharing your blog with us all. Susan, you are truly an inspiration to me. Praying for you all the time…..especially for continued peace.

    Love to you all,

    Susan Ballard

  14. Trent Merchant Says:

    Jerel – I am a friend of Susan’s from ages ago – elementary school… Another of that bunch brought me in to the loop on what is going on. Susan (and all of you) are in our prayers, and I will help spread the word to others as well. Hang in there…
    Trent Merchant

  15. Ashely Rudolph Says:

    You are being prayed for in Kinston NC….AND in heaven. What comfort to know “the Spirit helps us in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered…..He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” (Rom. 8:26-27)

    God bless you and yours…and thank you for your incredible witness.
    a friend of Susan McKnight

  16. Matt and Angie Mullins Says:

    Hi Jerel, We just heard about Susan’s cancer and were directed to this site. We are so very sorry and will be praying for Susan, you, your kids and your entire family. It’s been years since we’ve seen you, back in the Meck days and when you did our wedding of course, but one thing that remains in my memory very clearly is Susan’s smile and her sweet demeanor. We will be praying for all of you.

  17. Christine Senn Says:

    Jerel and Susan – Beautifully written! I hope you know how much of an inspiration you both are and how often you are in our thoughts. Our family continues to pray for Susan and your precious family. Thank you for sharing your story.

  18. Deanne Says:

    Jerel, Susan: It is evident that the peace of Christ rules in your hearts. We are continuing to pray for all of you.

  19. Rhonda L Says:

    Jerel
    Thank you for sharing this story of peace and satisfaction……….I continue to pray for healing, complete and total healing for Susan. I work Thur and Christmas Day in the ER and will try to see if I can stop by her room for a brief visit. Blessings and hugs

  20. KenDove Says:

    We remember your faithfulness to Alan and now our prayers are with you,
    Susan and your beautiful children. The love of Christ will see us through to most difficult times. Thank you far all you were to Alan.

  21. KenDove Says:

    Still preying and hoping for God’s Grace upon you all.

Leave a Reply

