A Short Christmas Eve Eve Post

Hi Friends – Susan had another pretty good day and seems to be pretty stable.  Two radiation treatments today, and an X-ray to see if there is fluid gathering on the left side of her lung.  Not sure of the results of that yet, but if it is significant then she will have another thoracentesis to drain the fluid.  She still cannot talk.  This is obviously a source of frustration for her.  Pray that her throat and vocal chords begin working again.  We haven’t seen any progress there yet, but it is still early.

The hospital has been great about helping us with Christmas.  They are providing an extra room for the the kids and me to sleep in tomorrow night.  The kids actually seem pretty excited about being there…kind of an adventure.  Just trying to remember that it’s about being together, wherever we are.

Hero of the Day

Obvious choice but needs to be said – our hero of the day is Susan’s sister Dana.  She may get the hero of the year award.  I can’t remember how many times now she has flown back and forth from Hawaii to here to see about her sister and help our family out.  She takes care of Susan so well, the kids love her, and she does so many things to keep the house running, all without complaining.   She and I trade off a lot between the hospital and the kids.  I don’t know what we’d do without her right now.  That’s why she’s our Hero of the Day.

 

11 Responses to “A Short Christmas Eve Eve Post”

  1. Judith Bryant Says:

    PRAYING!!!

  2. Brent J Says:

    Hoping, praying for a very special Christmas for all of you this year … crying for God to manifest His mercy for all of us to witness. We love you, Susan … still remember you! Praying specifically for all of you to know God’s comforting presence.

  3. Melissa Shelton Says:

    To the entire Law family: Our prayers continue for you. I’m glad you are spending Christmas together. May you have many blessings. The Sheltons

  4. lisa Nageotte Says:

    You all amaze me. I am thinking of you all tonight, and this Christmas. I will specifically pray that Susan’s voice comes back very soon. Its obvious you are an amazing family. Sending you positive thoughts and hope that tomorrow there is an easier day for Susan.
    God Bless you all!

    Love,

    Lisa

  5. LeAnne Says:

    Dana was my best friend in high school and a bridesmaid in my wedding. I always thought she was one of the best, but she has far surpassed everything I ever thought I knew about her. Dana, you are truly incredible, and Susan is fortunate to have you as a sister!! In high school, we didn’t always want our “little sisters” hanging out with us. Now, it amazes me how God shows us that they are our greatest friends and a forever treasure to us! Thank you for showing me what a true sister is! I love you and pray that you all have a blessed Christmas!
    Susan, still praying here in Rock Hill. I shared your story with the high school girls that I teach at church, and they have been incredible. They send me daily texts to check on you and let me know they are praying. God is at work in so many ways!! Merry Christmas!

  6. Charlotte Lennartz Says:

    Continue prayers from us! Merry Christmas!

  7. Mollie Hood Says:

    I have never met you, Susan. I am a friend of Kristin Brown’s, and just wanted you to know that I am praying for you and your family! From these posts, it is obvious that you are truly an inspiration for all. I will be praying for a special Christmas this year for you all, even in the hospital. I’ll also be praying for a peace that passes all understanding for your family. Much love to you all! Mollie

  8. gillian Says:

    I LOVE seeing sisters care for each other so well. My sister and I have minimal, tense contact through the year, and I rejoice every time I see sisterly love. It gives me hope about what could be…
    Thanks for sharing about Dana!

  9. Denise Cusick Says:

    I’m so happy to hear that you all were able to wake up in the same place this morning. Merry Christmas!
    Love, Joy, and Peace,
    Denise Cusick

  10. Laurie Venzon Says:

    We are continuing to pray for Susan and your entire family and hope you have a wonderful Christmas together.

  11. Carol Jackson Says:

    Dana & Family, so sorry to hear of the lose of your
    sister, wife, daughter, & mom. Just finished reading all
    the notes, Susan sounded like a very Neat & “special” lady
    – reminded me a lot of you Dana. She was blessed with a very loving
    family. I’m sure our 2 angels (Bev & Dad) were there to
    welcome her home with lots of hugs. Bev probably planned a party
    too! I will be keeping you all in my prayers in the days ahead thru
    this trying time. Keep remembering how much Susan is smiling now.
    Carol Jackson Lafayette, CO

Leave a Reply

