12.30.10

Thank you for continuing to follow and pray for Susan and
our family.

Susan was in the ICU all day and had a fairly
restful day, but was basically unresponsive. Her vital signs
are stable, but her breathing is growing gradually slower and her
blood pressure is moving down. They say that these are signs
that she is in the final stages of her journey.

Tomorrow we
will move her to the Hospice unit in the hospital. The rooms
are large and comfortable and the floor is quiet. It will be
a better place for her, and us, during our time together. She
has made so many friends, even in the hospital. Nurses that
were with her the past few weeks on the cancer wing are coming by
and spending time with her. Even as she has struggled so
much, she has shared her smile, bright eyes, and great sense of
humor with everyone around. Even here she makes an impression
on people. They can’t forget her, and as you might imagine,
everyone loves her already. Which, of course, is just like
her.

I am so grateful for the time I have been able to spend with
her. We have known each other twenty years, and married for
fifteen. They have been the best years of my life. How
did I get to be the one to be with her? It has been the
greatest privilege I’ve ever had. She is the sweetest,
funniest, smartest, most honest person I’ve ever known.

She
makes people feel comfortable. That is her gift. She
wants everyone around her to feel good about themselves.

I talked
to the kids last night about what is going on, and how she is not
going to be coming home. They wanted to come see her, so I
brought them in this morning. I am so proud of them, they
were so brave and sweet. I brought them into her room one at
a time. Bailey was so beautiful and caring, holding her
mommy’s hand, giving her a sweet kiss on her cheek, the
kind that Susan loves so much. Just like her mommy. Christopher was more
expressive and emotional, throwing his arms around her neck, not
worried about the lines coming out of her in every direction, or
the oxygen mask on her face. He kissed her cheek and rubbed
her hand. After a few minutes I asked him if he were ready to
leave. He said, “I want to stay with mommy forever.” Me
too. I held Luke and he leaned against my chest and peeked at
her, blowing her kisses.

What our family believes is that we
will be together forever in the end. Being on this side of
things, that is a very comforting thought. It gives us great
peace to know that this is not the end of things for her, or for
us. If what we believe is true, this ending brings a new
beginning. Where Susan is whole, joyful and free. So my
prayers for her have changed from asking for physical healing in
the here and now, to asking for what is best for her. To
asking for her freedom, for her peace, for the presence of God to
meet her where she is. Freedom from this cancer.
Freedom from the body of hers that has become a prison.
Freedom to enter into the full presence of God with wholeness and
new life. I can’t even comprehend what that means, but as sad
as I am, it excites me for her. Someone that I have known so
intimately is going to a new place, a new adventure, a closeness
with God that we can only dream about. A reality that we
believe is made available by Christ himself. One day, I can’t wait
to talk to her about it. For now, we will do what we can do.
Hold her hand, pray for her, whisper in her ear, love her, love one
another, remind her that we are here.

So we are grieving. But (and I can honestly say this) not as people without hope.

Much love to all of
you. You are carrying us with your prayers right now.

Jerel

77 Responses to “12.30.10”

  1. Shondra Says:

    I do not know Susan or your family. However I first learned
    about this blog a couple of days ago when a friend of mine posted
    it on her facebook page. The family picture is perhaps the most
    perfect picture I have ever seen. And there is something about
    Susan…not just her physical beauty (although she is stunningly
    beautiful) but there is also a peace and a loveliness about her and
    in her eyes that just touched me in such a way that I cannot
    describe! She has been in my constant thoughts and prayers since
    learning of this. I have checked this blog several times today as I
    have been so concerned. I am so sorry that your family is having to
    experience this. I have cried and begged God to perform a miracle
    and heal her even at this point. My heart is breaking because I
    want Him to intervene, heal her body and leave her here for her
    beautiful family. My love, thoughts and prayers will continue to be
    with Susan and with your family. She is never far from my thoughts.
    I pray for your peace and understanding for your family and rest
    for all of you.

  2. Laura & Mike Grace Says:

    Jerel,
    I could never express myself or my feelings as eloquently as you have through this blog. You and Susan have shared a rare and precious gift, honest unconditional love for one another, respect, and honor. I have learned so much from the courage you two have shown in the face of such diversity. I am so sorry your family is suffering such an incomprehensible challenge. My words are so insufficient at this time but I have sat up many hours of the night thinking and praying for your sweet family. All of the people who you and Susan and your children have touched and loved have their hearts wrapped around you all tonight, tomorrow and forever.

  3. Jeanette Galliher Says:

    Dear Jerel~

    Oh how The Lord is close to you all. Each of you needing Him in very unique and special ways. Praise be to God that He can fulfill every single one…you are all surrounded with love and prayers. The moment I read your post I stared to sing:

    “When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.
    
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

    My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

    For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

    But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!

    And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.”

  4. Michelle Lee Pfaff Says:

    I am a friend from Susan’s elementary years at Myers Park.
    I have tried to look Susan up on FB and never found her. Today, a
    friend sent me a post making me aware of what Susan has been
    through over the past 3 years. I have sat here this evening and
    read through posts dating back to October of this year. My heart is
    so heavy with sadness this moment. It is no surprise to read how
    much love and support has been surrounding Susan and her beautiful
    family! She is a precious person with such a beautiful spirit and I
    remember her sweetness and beautiful smile from years ago very
    clearly. I am praying for you all – what strength and faith you
    have had to help carry you through such a difficult journey. I am
    also praying for Susan’s angel babies – what beautiful children!
    May their little hearts and minds be strengthened by the love and
    support of their family. My thoughts are with you all and
    especially with my sweet, sweet friend, Susan!

  5. Cathy Haney Says:

    I will keep you and your family in my prayers. No words can
    express the heartache. No words can make it better. God and his Son
    are with you even if we may not feel it at times. He is with you
    through every heartache. He is with you through every tear. He
    wraps Susan, you, and your children in His love. Don’t forget to
    breathe and let God take care if you.

  6. bob Says:

    In the midst of tears, we offer prayers for the kind of peace that surpasses all understanding. Love you guys …

  7. Ashley and Seth Alte Says:

    There aren’t enough words to describe the impact you ,
    Susan and your family have made on us. A new couple from another
    state venturing out to Connection, you took us in and Susan made
    her AWESOME chocolate pie dessert and seemed top love us from the
    very beginning. You are right, Susan has a was of making people
    feel comfortable and she was definitely a part of helping us making
    us feel a home when we felt so out of place. I was in Gideons room
    looking at the stationary she made him and just remembering our
    times in Kids Connection and thinking how blessed we were to know
    her, she’s an inspiration now and I know always will be to everyone
    who knew her and hears her story. We look forward to seeing her
    welcoming eyes again, but next time in Paradise! Please, please,
    PLEASE don’t hesitate to call if you need a helping hand with
    anything. Like I said in the email, give her a snuggle from the
    Alte’s and a kiss atop her head, hug the kids, and we are sending a
    warm hug to you as well. You are always in our prayers and will
    remain there…Love to all

  8. Ken and Kim Says:

    I’m certain few of us who read your words have any way of imagining what it feels like to be you today, Jerel. For that matter, we have no real way to imagine what it’s like to be Susan either. You have opened a window for us to see past our own experiences and hopes. We are better prepared, I believe, for the day we will face our own mortality–or that of one precious to us–because you have invited us into your hopes, your fears, and the reality that they will always exist together. Nevertheless, none of us wants to face days like yours. You have been a pastor to us thru your pain. We are grateful, yet we still wish you had never had to write any of this. You, Susan, Bailey, Christopher and Luke are loved deeply.

  9. Susan Bost Says:

    May God continue to surround your family and friends with His amazing love, comfort and peace.

    Susan Bost

  10. Ruth Winn Says:

    Jerel,
    Thank you for the comments you wrote. To God be the glory and honor for His loving kindness and faithfulness. May the God of all comfort bless and comfort you and your family.

  11. Joan Rogers Says:

    I vividly remember a sermon Susan gave years ago that was a key turning point for me. It brought me back to God. She compared the love a parent has for their child to the unconditional love God has for us. She described the day that we might come before God and what it will be like to have him take our face in His hands and gaze on us with boundless love. She made me BELIEVE in a way that I had not been able to to. I wish it were not so soon but, when God welcomes Susan home and takes her face in His hands, I know that His love will be boundless and she will be free of all pain and sorrow. I continue to pray for all of you on this difficult journey. May you fell God’s peace surround you!

  12. Angie and Scott Utesch Says:

    Dearest Law family….something sacred is occurring in that
    room- we can sense that as you write so honestly. Our hearts are
    aching for you, yet we trust and hope with you in God’s higher
    ways. God often seems to show His glory in ways that seem so
    humanly challenging- He is doing that through Susan’s and your
    lives. We are lifting you up- even just in groans as we don’t
    always have words for all that is going on. Thank you for sharing
    your lives and giving us a glimpse into this unbelievably hard but
    sacred time…….

  13. Lori Angel Stepp Says:

    I praise God for the hope that He gives us in Christ! Susan is a faithful servant glorifying God in all she does. We pray for that hope (which is Christ in you through the Holy Spirit) to also sustain you during this time!

  14. Charlene (college friend of Brian's) Says:

    Jerel and family, May the outpouring of love and prayers surround your family with comfort, strength and peace. Amidst our tears, we will continue to pray for Susan, you, your precious children and your family. Thank you for continuing to share your journey.

  15. Lynn Marshall Says:

    Jerel – the relationship you and Susan have with one another and with God bring glory to Him. I came by to see her yesterday and spent some time with Susan and Dana. As nurses came to check on Susan I got to hear more of the impact she has made on the staff and those who have been caring for her, some as long as 3 years. Susan is a beautiful person with a light that draws people in. She seemed so peaceful yesterday. I wondered if she was dreaming of walking with God in a beautiful tropical garden. Ultimately, she wins! I pray that God surround you with his peace and the comfort of His love.

  16. Traci Browne Says:

    “Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is
    destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in
    heaven,not built by human hands. Meanwhile, we groan, longing to be
    clothed in our heavenly dwelling….For while we are in this tent,
    we groan and we are burdened, because we do not wish to be
    unclothed but to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, so that
    what is mortal may be swallowed up by LIFE. Now it is God who has
    made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a
    deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” 2Corinthians 5:1-5 Your
    family remains in our hearts and prayers. May God be near to you
    and comfort you as only He can.

  17. Pam Beam Says:

    Jerel, you and your family are constantly on my mind and in
    my heart. I do not understand any of this. I remember the first day
    I met you and Susan at Preschool. You touched my heart in such a
    way that I have always admired you and your family. You are such an
    inspiration to me. Susan’s smile just always warmed my heart and it
    was obvious how much she loves you and her babies. As Luke would
    say, “May the force be with you!” I love you all! Hugs and
    prayers!

  18. Rebekah Says:

    Praying for all of you! Glad to know you are trusting in
    the Father.

  19. Linda Reeb Says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey, hard as it is….you have shown us the reality of the firm foundation we have as Christ-followers……the reality of the things unseen. Praying that God will give you ongoing hope, in the middle of the hard stuff. Our love and prayers are with you all.

  20. Catherine Warner Says:

    Your writings are bringing tremendous healing to old wounds of grief. What a privilege and an honor that you have allowed us a glimpse of this journey. Susan loved her family so well…a remarkable gift and the sign of God’s presence with you. Her heart, soul and spirit is indeed not stolen by the cancer, but in the hands of God where you have constant access. We are so grateful for the way you have chosen to pour out and to walk among community in this journey. We are all walking closer to Christ as a result. We love you and appreciate you beyond what words can express.

  21. Ann Henley Says:

    How I weep to read these words, but you are so right, Jerel. You grieve not as those without HOPE. Thank you for sharing your journey and for loving your wife and children so well. We will continue to pray for all of those who love you all and especially for your family.

  22. Alicia Campbell Says:

    Dear Jerel, My husband and I have been following this blog
    for some time now. We are two more of the people Susan has touched,
    even though I have never met her. We are believing right along with
    you, wanting the best for Susan and knowing that JESUS is the best
    for her. With love and prayers from Boston, Alicia
    Campbell

  23. Shannon Austin-Ball Says:

    Susan and your entire family are so heavy on our hearts! I look at the pictures of her and Bailey and see the same Susan in elementary school. We are praying for peace and comfort and God to just wrap his strong arms around each of you. Your faith is insurmountable and a testimony to anyone who reads this! In the past year reconnecting with Susan, I feel like I have gotten to know the entire family. Even decades after elementary school, she knew just what to say to warm a person’s heart! As the tears fall reading this, I lift each of you up to Our Heavenly Father! Thank you for taking the time to update us and for sharing your journey.

  24. Shayla Says:

    I feel blessed to have known both you and Susan. She is kind and caring with a gentle Spirit. I loved being on the worship team with you in North Chapter IVCF. I can’t imagine what you are going through as a family but you are all in my prayers!

  25. Eric Hayes Says:

    Hi Jerel- Andrea and I want to pass along our love. And as
    you know better than so many of us, “… whenever you face trials
    of any kind, consider it nothing but joy, because you know that the
    testing of your faith produces endurance; and let endurance have
    its full effect, so that you may be mature and complete, lacking in
    nothing.” (James 1, 2-4) YOUR faith and hope, along with Susan’s,
    is remarkable! God bless you and your family! Eric

  26. brandi rabon Says:

    Jerel- We have followed ur situation through Nick &
    Heather, but I just want you to know that Jay & I are
    lifting you all up constantly. You have expressed ur love for Susan
    & ur faith so beautifully here. This will be such a gift to
    ur children in the years ahead. May you feel our Lords hand like
    never before in the days ahead. Brandi & Jay Rabon

  27. Cathy Church Norman Says:

    Jerel, I had not been keeping up with your blog, but a
    friend (who you don’t know) posted it on fb. I’m so saddened to
    hear about Susan. My heart goes out to all of you, and I am holding
    you close in prayer. Grace and peace be with you, my
    friend.

  28. the Rusk Family Says:

    Jerel Our hearts are breaking for you and the kids. This
    has been a three year journey for all of you that is coming to an
    end. I am thinking of Susans sweetness and how she is probably the
    nicest, honest and most loving person we have been privileged to
    know. We are praying for your peace now and know that you will be
    surrounded with love. We love you and the kids and mourn for you
    and with you. We pray for your strength and for some peace for you
    as this journey comes to an end and Susan gets the best gift of
    all!

  29. Addison Ayer Says:

    I wish there were words I could offer to take away some of the pain right now. Since I have none that are adequate, I’ll simply tell you that I will continue to pray for your whole family….that God’s loving arms wrap around you all and bring you PEACE. I’m also praying that you hold onto each other tightly as you share this precious final time with Susan. Please know that you are being lifted up by many.

  30. Wanda Horton Says:

    I, like Shondra, learned of this post through a Facebook
    friend. The story of your family, Susan’s journey, and your faith
    has been so touching. The scope of what you all have been through
    is difficult to imagine but the faith, love, and hope for Susan is
    such an inspiration. What a beautiful legacy to share, during such
    a time. I hope prayers and love will lift Susan, you and your
    family as we all wrap it around you.

  31. Brian Schindler Says:

    Jerel, I can’t even imagine what is going through your mind
    but I am glad that God is there with you, Susan, and the kids.
    Memories of your sermons come to mind at Church at Charlotte years
    ago and I can remember the passion that you had in Christ. Praying
    for you and the family, knowing that God is good.

  32. Suzanne Meade Says:

    Thank you for being so real in emotion throughout this
    entire journey – one with many ups and downs, smiles and tears,
    trials and hope. I believe Susan’s life has been filled with
    countless blessings along the way – an incredible husband to share
    the most incredible years of her life, loving her, supporting her,
    never leaving her side – three most beautiful children to brighten
    her days, share in their joys, hold and love – and an abundance of
    friends and family to live, laugh and love alongside her. God has
    used this incredible woman to bring so many people to know Him,
    trust Him, and love Him. Even people she didn’t even know! What a
    gift! We will continue to pray for your family as you enter this
    new phase of life, knowing God will use each one of you to do great
    things! We love you guys.

  33. cindygodwin Says:

    Jerel, You do not know me personally but I thank you for
    sharing Susan’s story with us and allowing us the honor to pray for
    her and for your family. What an awesome testiment of true love you
    and Susan are..thank you for reminding me how to love my husband.
    Secondly, thank you for your amazing testimony of faith in
    God…this is faith at its best. May God bless you and hold you
    close. Cindy Godwin

  34. Charlotte Lennartz Says:

    Praying……..

  35. Cathi Says:

    Jerel and family, Praying for peace and know that the
    family of God is lifting you up. May these last memories be
    precious and uplifting for you and yours! Cathi

  36. Kim Brown Says:

    Jerel, we’ve never met, but a friend has kept us informed
    via Facebook, and we have prayed for your family. Your words of
    love and support for Susan are inspirational, and an example of
    what we should all strive to be for our loved ones. Your love for
    each other and your children will sustain you through the next
    phase of your journey. May you be comforted by your faith, your
    memories, and the support of your friends and family. Godspeed,
    Susan. May peace be with you always.

  37. rhondalennon Says:

    You inspire me and so many others. I post your blog to my
    FB page and people I didn’t even know were believers tell me how
    Susan’s story has inspired them and that they are praying for you
    all. I see Susan’s eyes and smile everytime I look at your
    beautiful children. I consider it a high and holy privledge to be
    praying for your family in this time. Soon, she will know all the
    details that we here on this place wait for, she will see the face
    of Jesus and commune with him. Praying for her peace and comfort on
    this stage of her journey home!

  38. Michelle Kirby Says:

    Our hearts are breaking for you, the kids and Susan. I pray
    Susan is at peace and knows how much she has touched everyone she
    has ever met.Jacob and I played the CD of Christmas Music she made
    for him our first year there yesterday and we cried thinking of how
    sweet and kind she was to him – one of the few boys singing in the
    Christmas Show that year. I pray you and the kids continue to find
    the strength to be there for her as you have been doing such an
    amazing job of. I pray for her family and your family to continue
    to be your strength and for you Jerel to know how many people are
    praying for you and your family. We love you.

  39. Lisa Bucy Says:

    Jerel & Susan – our hearts are overwhelmed… knees
    to the earth. We love you all!

  40. tim and christina lewis Says:

    for freedom. for peace. with hope. BIG hope. BIG love. we
    pray with you. we weep with you. we hope with you.

  41. Curtis Martin Says:

    Susan is amazing, and blesses so many on both sides of heaven! Yet I am sad and grieving with you during these times, but in that sadness, I don’t want to miss the chance to let Susan know much she is loved here and now. Jerel how can we do that? How can we best love her, you, the kids, and your families? We can’t even pretend to know what you need now, but if it helps–I’d like to suggest that we share with each other about Susan’s impact on our brief moments on this side of heaven. For me her sharp blue eyes and her hugging smile always seems to give me a taste of the peace of God. She helps me to believe that God loves me–and is more than ok with me as I am.

  42. Katie Robinson Says:

    Bill and I have been talking this morning about when we first met Susan. I remember being so impressed that she could play the guitar and sing. She was one of the first to ever lead me in true worship. I think of her next season of worship and what joy it will bring to our Lord.

  43. Amanda Klimt Says:

    Jerel and Susan, I don’t know if you remember me, I am
    Kevin’s x-wife. We used to go to church with you and Meck CCC. We
    were Kevin, Amanda, Wesley and Jennifer.. I found out about Susan
    through a friend at my church, Grace Covenant Church. I went
    through this journey in 2009 and I guess God was not finished with
    me yet, because he chose to leave me here.. I hurt so much for you
    and your family. Sometimes we just don’t understand God’s plans but
    we have to keep our faith and know that He loves us so
    unconditionally and has a Perfect plan for all of us.. I will be in
    prayer for you and your family. I remember you both, and especially
    how loving, giving and beautiful Susan was. You both glowed with
    God’s love all the time. You were both such an inspiration to me.
    Know that you and your family are in a lot of prayers Jerel. We
    love you and lift you all up. Amanda Klimt

  44. Kyle and Steph Atteberry Says:

    Dear Jerel and Susan and Kiddos, Kyle and I just want to
    tell you all how much we love you guys. We are so blessed to know
    yall and to have been a part of each others lives through kid suff
    and connection church. Thank you for opening up your lives to us.
    We will continue to pray for God’s grace and peace and comfort for
    yall. We love you. steph

  45. Bev Says:

    Jerel, we’ve never met, but a friend has kept us informed
    via Facebook, and we have been praying for your family. I am a 4
    month cancer survivor. I know your heart is breaking, but please
    know that many are lifting you and your family up in prayer. I have
    posted your website on my fb (like others have) and there are
    people from all over the world praying for the Law family.

  46. The Sheltons Says:

    Jerel and family: Your faith never ceases to amaze me. Even
    in the darkest hour you all find peace and hope. The five of you
    have made an impact on so many people, including us. Our prayers
    will be of comfort, peace and closeness for your family. Love,
    Doug, Melissa, Mirabella & Dougie

  47. jim Campbell Says:

    Thank you for sharing your faith, your wonderful family at
    this difficult time. You’re such a good man, father, husband. I
    know Susan is comforted beyond words by knowing she’s blessed to
    have you with her now.. & to know you’ll there to carry on
    the journey. You’re all in our hearts and our prayers. God Bless
    your family

  48. Kristin Brown Says:

    Tell Susan that we are praying for her. Tell her we are amazed and inspired by her life, this little blog, and the family of faith you all have.

  49. jim Campbell Says:

    Jerel Thank you for sharing faith, strength and your
    precious family at such a difficult time A blessing and I’m sure a
    great comfort to Susan knowing not only of God’s love but that she
    also has your love for her & for the kids. She knows you’ll
    be there to carry on the journey. Your family is in our hearts and
    prayers.

  50. Latonya Croney Says:

    Jerel – I am keeping you all lifted up in prayer. May God’s
    peace wash over you all at this very moment.

  51. Susan Walters Says:

    Praying. weeping, bombarding Heaven with Susan’s name

    Blessings and love to each of you, in His Most Gracious Name

    Susan Walters

  52. Steve and Cindy Says:

    Jerel & Susan, There’s not much we can add to what
    you’ve written in your blog. Our hearts ache and our prayers go up
    for you. Love, Steve and Cindy Mousetis

  53. Elizabeth Hope Says:

    Jerel, I am an old friend of Dana’s from college. I have
    had the honor of meeting your wife and of knowing Dana for some 20
    years. Please know that I will be praying for all of you. Your love
    for Susan is an inspiration as is your faith in our Lord. May He
    bring you and your family comfort and peace in the coming days.
    Love to you all, Beth Annne Hope

  54. Karen Friesen Says:

    Dearest friend that I have never met. I just read this post
    and I’m weeping for your loss. I’m so, so sorry and I’m praying
    with you and for you. My husband, Scott Friesen, said he went to
    school with you and Susan. I lost my first husband 5 years ago and
    if ever I can be a resource please contact me
    (knfriesen(at)gmail.com). You’re right: we are not without hope and
    that hope has made an enormous difference in my grief over these
    past years. Love to you and your precious family.

  55. Ann Says:

    I have just stumbled on your site via facebook. Your moving
    letter has me weeping over your great sorrow but I also share in
    your hope. My heart and my prayers are lifting you and your family
    to the throne of grace.

  56. Leigh Says:

    Jerel, May the light of God’s love envelop you, Susan and
    your children during these gray days. I just learned about your
    family’s recent struggles today and am saddened by the news. Please
    know that my thoughts and prayers are being added to the chorus of
    voices in progress. Love, Leigh

  57. James J Jansen Says:

    Jerel, I have read some of these posts today with tears in
    my eyes and prayers in my heart for Susan, you and the kids. You
    don’t know me. I attend Grace Covenant church. I am here for you
    and want to offer to you anything you need. I walked through a
    nightmare 3-1/2 years ago and now live here in Cornelius with my
    little boy who is 7. I totally understand everything you feel my
    brother and am here to help you. In Jesus Name. 860-712-6819. Call
    anytime Jim

  58. Laura & Andre Jessie Says:

    Praying for all your family. I meet you both a few months
    ago but I felt really comfortable talking to Susan everytime she
    came to the clinic. Praying that she has peace,comfort during her
    final journey . I know our Heavenly Father has a special place for
    her . Praying for strenght for you and the kids during this time as
    well.

  59. Jen Says:

    Truly beautiful post. I will continue to keep your family
    in my thoughts and wish you and your children incredible strength
    in the coming days and weeks.

  60. Hershel Dunne Says:

    Hello Jerel, I did not know you or your wife. A friend of
    mine from Myers Park named Brent Jones told me about her situation.
    I feel compelled to write and tell you that you are right in the
    palm of our Father’s hand. He will lift you my brother. I am sure
    you are aware that though death is our enemy. It is not victorious
    for those who trust in Christ. You have a Christ-like attitude. Our
    humanity wants to wail and lament the passing of a loved one.
    Christ in us compels us to give praise to God for redeeming them
    and giving them a place in His kingdom. This earth and it’s draw
    upon us is dying. Paradise is calling, and we who trust Christ must
    soon all meet there. Worthy is the Lamb!

  61. Wendi Saito Says:

    May your family and friends find peace in the Lord during
    this very difficult time. I have known Dana (Susan’t sister) for
    about 4 years now. And from what I know about Dana, I’m sure her
    sister is just as wonderful. My thoughts and prayers are with you
    everyday. God bless and may peace be with you and Susan.

  62. Allen Hill Says:

    So sorry to hear this news. My wife and I will be praying
    for your whole family.

  63. Top Posts — WordPress.com Says:

    […] 12.30.10 Thank you for continuing to follow and pray
    for Susan and our family. Susan was in the ICU all day and had a
    […] […]

  64. Jennifer Reiter Agard Says:

    Praying for you, your beautiful wife Susan, and your
    children…. May God grant you peace during this time.

  65. Dana McCabe Says:

    Dear Susan, Jerel and kids,

    God keep you and hold you close.
    We love you.

    In Him,
    Dana and Tom McCabe

  66. Elizabeth Reiner Says:

    What a beautiful person you are Susan! Thank you for the
    impact you have had in our lives, thank you for your serving heart
    you have shown others, and how you have obeyed our heavenly Father.
    You are a truly woman of God, and we are so blessed to have you in
    our lives! We love you! The Reiner’s

  67. Trent Says:

    Your family is an inspiration. Your blog has really compelled my wife and I to focus on the deep importance of this season – and how necessary it is to carry that love beyond the season… Jerel, I cannot imagine what you are going through. You are facing my own greatest fear. Thank you for your tremendous courage and honesty in maintaining the blog after Susan was no longer able – clearly the two of you have touched more people than you may have anticipated. And your willingness to share vulnerability is especially inspiring to me as a husband and father – your example shows me how to live when I understand so little and control so little. The Laws are in our prayers…

  68. Robin Clark Says:

    I do not know Susan or your family, and first heard about Susan when a friend asked people to pray for her. My heart breaks for you and your family. I have and will continue to pray daily for all of you. I have also asked my friends to pray for all of you as well. I was happy to see that you are people of faith. I hope that your faith will carry you through these difficult days. I hope the prayers of your family, friends and the many others of us who have read your blog, will help to sustain you and lift you up.

  69. Connie Says:

    Thank you for your beautiful words about your wife—tell your children she is not only in their past but also in their future–My prayers are with your family for lasting peace!!

  70. Andy Creekmore Says:

    A friend directed me to your blog today. I have not seen you guys since the early 1990s at UNC and it breaks my heart to be reconnected with you in your most difficult time. You were both such an inspiration to me as a new student, true role models in a world where good ones seem so rare. I send you my love and support now, and join the hosts here in wrapping my arms around you to lift you up. –Andy C.

  71. Melinda Says:

    I pray that you will be surrounded by a peace and comfort that only God can provide. Your family is such an inspiration, and a wonderful testimony to God’s love for us.

  72. Kyle Wallace Says:

    I love you, brother, and am so honored to be your friend. Your comments remind me of Wesley’s hymn; it is my prayer for you and your beautiful family:

    Come Thou long expected Jesus.
    Born to set Thy people free.
    From our fears and sins release us.
    Let us find our rest in Thee.
    Israel’s strength and consolation.
    Hope of all the earth Thou art.
    Dear desire of every nation.
    Joy of every longing heart.

    Born Thy people to deliver.
    Born a child and yet a king.
    Born to reign in us forever.
    Now Thy gracious kingdom bring.
    By Thine own eternal Spirit
    Rule in all our hearts alone.
    By Thine all sufficient merit
    Raise us to Thy glorious throne.

    Rejoice, rejoice Emmanuel;
    Rejoice, rejoice. Glory be to God,
    Glory be to God in the highest!

  73. Angela Branham Says:

    Dear Law Family,
    I have fond memories of Susan when we were in grade school and on throughout the years. I think about her beautiful eyes, her freckles, and the way she treated people so nicely, no matter what. We may have not kept in touch, but Susan has touched my life.
    I will keep you all in my prayers.

  74. Simmons Covington Lettre Says:

    Jerel–What a beautiful family you have today, and will have forever. May 2011 bring peace to you, your wife, and chidren.

  75. Michele Says:

    I can say I have been in your shoes as a child being told my mom only had a few hrs left…..the cancer had taken her away…….and now as a wife/mother I am in your shoes again as a widow with 3 young kids. My husband was 36 when he passed away 4 yrs ago. I am praying for you that God will give you the strength that he has given me.

    God Bless You!!

  76. Amy & Joe Says:

    I am sitting here with a friend, a non-believer reading
    posts from the past few days. After reading this, two things struck
    me. First, I need to share with someone. I handed my phone to my
    friend. She’s now weeping. As Susan was dying, Jerel and her are
    still reaching people for Christ. What if this message is the one
    that brings my friend and her beautiful family into the kingdom of
    heaven? Second, I thought I want to be more like Susan – the
    funniest, smartest, kindest, etc. person my husband ever knew. What
    would Joe be writing if I were to die? I began to think, how does
    one become more like Susan? The answer was easy. We become more
    like Christ. In the worst of times, the Lord has spoken to so many
    through your beautiful love for one another and for the Lord. Thank
    you for sharing.

  77. Carole Pesavento Says:

    Jerel, John and I just heard that Susan went home to be with our Lord Jesus Christ. We are greiving for you and your beautiful children. All the loving memories of being in her presence and yours, wishing we had seen her one more time. Your blog is the loving of Christ and please know we love you in Him and offer our prayers and helping hands when you can call upon us. We love you. Carole and John Pesavento

Leave a Reply

