How Samsung is saving me right now

So, I’m doing laundry right now.  I hate laundry.  Always have.  Susan was well-aware of this, and we had a deal.  I mowed the grass.  She did the laundry.  (As I am realizing, I got the better end of that one.  Remember the criminal asylum in Silence of the Lambs?  Several of those guys were in there because they went nutso while trying to separate 9 and 6-year old boys’ socks and underwear from each other.)  ((double-parentheses – that would have made Susan chuckle))

What I will say, though, is that this new washer and dryer we have is actually making it bearable.  The ad for these Samsung babies says they will handle like 17 pairs of jeans at once (not kidding).  So I am putting them to the test – which means jamming as much as I dare in there at once and seeing what happens.  So far, so good.  The old dryer we had – a load like that would take probably 3 rounds of drying.  This one only takes one.  Thank you Samsung!  (And my Lowes friends who recommended them)

Why am I telling you all of this?  I’m not sure – but on nights when I don’t blog here (which has been a lot lately), chances are I am doing laundry, cleaning up from dinner, or some other homemaking task.  (I got a new vacuum cleaner too, by the way.  It is a beast.  OK, enough with the parenthetical statements.  But if you want to talk home appliances and such, I guess I’m your guy.)

Basically I’m just feeling the need to check in here and say that we are doing okay.  Just okay.  I’ve said this before, and it’s been said to me – this is nowhere near a linear process.  I think from the outside in, we may expect people to get better and better and better with each day that goes by.  I can’t say that’s the case.  In fact, as I sit here, it’s been 73 days since Susan died.  And in some ways I think it is just beginning to hit us.  The four of us are having moments of realization that, at different times, have hit us heavily.

“She’s not coming back.  Ever.”  That’s what these moments of clarity tell us.  The finality of death is crushing at times.

Of course, those moments are intermingled with a lot of other good things.  Life is moving, as it always does, and here are a few things we’ve been doing:

-a trip to Raleigh to celebrate multiple birthdays in my family

-I saw comedian Brian Regan live with my sister in Durham – fun, funny night with her

-I went to the Duke-Carolina game in Chapel Hill – forever indebted to James, my brother-in-law, for that ticket

-Also got to see Maryland-Carolina with my buddy John

-took Luke to Duke Hospital again regarding the swelling in his foot – it seems a little better.  They are still stumped, but not overly-concerned.  It is not slowing him down.

-kids are all playing soccer, which makes Saturdays interesting – so far, so good – they’re all having fun

-Lake Norman Community Church is going well – what a terrific group of people I get to serve with

-I turned in what I hope to be the final draft of novel #1 to Thomas-Nelson – getting ready to start the groundwork for #2

-took the kids to the Bobcats-Clippers game last week (notice a trend here?  Darn it, wasn’t going to use parentheses again…)

-enjoyed another visit from Aunt Dana, and looking forward to the next one

And a bunch of other stuff…

So…that’s a little from the Law family home front.  A mixed-up mess of good and bad.  I’ll check in again this week.  Love you all.

 

12 Responses to “How Samsung is saving me right now”

  1. Kara Says:

    Love you! Thinking of you often, more often than we say (sorry about that). Love to all of you.
    Bennett and Kara

  2. Melissa Durham Says:

    It was great to hear from you Jerel…and we love you too! We think of you often and praying for you and the family!

    Bob, Melissa, Megan and Autumn

  3. Carolyn Says:

    So glad to read you update. Just last night I started to post a comment saying that we were ready for an update, but didn’t want to put any pressure on you. I think of you and your family often, wonder how things are going, and pray for you.

  4. Robin Says:

    We always love your posts. Love to you all – The Doolittles 🙂

  5. Hope Says:

    Thanks for the post. It’s a great reminder that grief isn’t linear and not every day is a little better than the one before. Thanks for also sharing the fun moments with us.

  6. Edie Stanfield Says:

    Jerel — I’m SO impressed with you but, then again, why wouldn’t I be — Susan chose you to marry!!! Wish I lived next door so I could help out with some of the housekeeping chores! Think of you and the kids SO often and pray for you. Thanks for letting me continue to be in your lives!

  7. Charlotte Lennartz Says:

    Please keep posting – we love yuo guys too!

  8. Jenni Marsh Says:

    YAY.. A post from Jerel… I’ve been looikng daily to hear from you and glad to hear about all of it – hard parts and crazy parts and the sometimes bright places. I think about you guys all the time. Love to you all!

  9. Lynn Marshall Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how we can still find sweetness in the sadness and how being able to shove 12 pairs of jeans in a washing machine can bring such satisfaction. We are thinking of you and praying for you. Hope to run into you at Panera again soon.

  10. Angie Anzalone Says:

    I love hearing your updates! People like me who are friends of friends but have never had the pleasure of meeting your wonderful family, are here listening and praying every day as well. Thank you for sharing how you and your children are doing. You are such an inspiration. Looking forward to your next post….

  11. Christie Says:

    Yay for Samsung!!! Our boys’ socks are a blast to sort. (Read with sarcasm.) We pick a certain kind for each of the boys and stick to it for the most part. (Green Ms for one, gray toe for another, all white for another and green “Hanes” across the toe for our oldest. Anything with a hole goes immediately in the trash. It’s a good system! 🙂

    Praying for all of you!!

  12. lisa Nageotte Says:

    I love reading about your laundry and appliances. It made me smile to think about how we choose to find sunshine even when the overcast is somewhat gloomy. You have to do this things, yet you are taking the time to find joy in places that some wouldn’t. You are strong! You are helping so many people by sharing your daily thoughts and pain. Hang in there Jerel! What an awesome example of love and strength you are to so many.

Leave a Reply

