Random Rundown

  • Only two more days until spring break starts.  The kids are ready, and I think I am too.  We’ll visit my folks some of the time, and be here most of next week – no really big travel plans.
  • My dad turned 75 this week, and we’ll be celebrating him with family this weekend.  Happy birthday, dad!
  • I was shocked to find out that Char-Grill is opening in Davidson next week.  If you’re from Raleigh, nothing more needs to be said.  But for the rest of you, this place is really, really good.  One of the best burgers you’ll ever eat.  Susan and I went here a bunch in Raleigh through the years.  Can’t wait to introduce the kids.
  • I turned in a big revision of my book today.  Glad to have that off my plate and on to book #2.
  • I played golf for the first time in basically a year and a half yesterday.  Mostly terrible golf, but great company (thanks Scott!).  I will say, though, that I eagled the par-5 17th at Birkdale…first time I’ve had one of those in years and years.  Chipped in from 50 yards.  Those will bring you back to the course.  I haven’t felt much like playing, but once I was out there, I remembered why I love this sport so much.
  • We have some really good friends.  I’m grateful for those relationships, now maybe more than ever.  You are all holding us up, and we love you for it.
  • Luke was selected to be the lead in the kindergarten play this year – Maliki the Lion.  He is quite excited about it.  Especially because he gets to use a microphone.  I’m sure he’ll do great – hopefully I’ll be able to make it through.  This is something Susan would have absolutely LOVED to see.  I’m sure she’ll be there in spirit, cheering her boy on.
  • I’m doing some counseling right now – first time I’ve ever done that.  I can honestly say that it has been a really good experience.  It’s helped me to know that I have a time when I know for sure every week that someone is going to ask me questions about Susan, and how I’m doing.  I have friends who do this too, but it’s nice to have that time slated every week.  If you ever find yourself stuck and in need of help in an area of your life, I’d highly recommend these folks – The Barnabas Center.
  • Susan’s sister Dana comes in at the end of next week.  We always look forward to her being here.  We’ll do some fun stuff with the kids and she helps take the pressure off of a lot of the daily grind kinds of things around here.
  • A huge pile of laundry has been in the dryer since last night.
  • A friend of ours wrote and told me that one of her memories of Susan is from the neighborhood babysitting co-op we used to be in.  They were sending around a bunch of “get-to-know-you” questions to each other, and one of them was “What do you collect?”  Susan’s answer:  “Dust”.  Made me laugh out loud – she had a great sense of humor, and it helps me not put so much pressure on myself to try to have it all together here.
  • I think I miss laughing with her the most.
  • We see Susan’s parents 1-2 times a week.  They usually come one day a week to meet the kids after school, make dinner, and give me some extra time to get things done.  What a great blessing they are.
  • I’m reminded all over the place that no matter what, God is faithful.  I’d have to have my eyes closed to miss it.
3 Responses to “Random Rundown”

  1. Susan Rosenblatt Says:

    Thank you for your posts….they are reflection of what a wonderful wife & mother Susan was. I do not have the privilege of knowing you, but with the blogs, I feel like I do. I lost my mom in 2003 and I can relate to alot of things you say in your blog….Mother’s Day is coming up quickly. It’s an especially hard time around here. But, I wanted to tell you something we did the first year my mom was in Heaven. We had a “Memory Party”…we all wrote down a special Mother’s Day memory and put it in a balloon. We sang one of her favorite songs and let the balloons go. It was really therapeutic for my daughter and niece (6 & 8 at the time). All that being said…keep doing what you are doing. One foot in front of the other….
    Sincerely,
    Susan Rosenblatt
    (Whitney Gray’s Friend)

  2. Charlotte Lennartz Says:

    I just love hearing about your lives and how things are going. I did counseling for a while a highly recommend it myself. Thanks for posting!

  3. Julie Says:

    You will be amazed at how the counseling will pull you through the tough moments..I would highly recommend it in a flash. Godly counsel is a huge blessing! So happy to hear how you and your precious children are surrounded by so much love and support-you are so right – God IS faithful!! Blessings and Prayers….

Leave a Reply

